Bearface is an education technology company that partners with universities to provide high-quality web-based learning, assessment, and analytic services for student health courses and employee wellness education programs. Bearface products include course content and the BearTracks assessment platform, which provides easy to use, customizable content and tools that measure higher level learning knowledge and skills, particularly student’s behavior change strategies and tactics. We not only track what students learn, but how they learn it. Integrated assessment technology with course content is the key to Bearface's value proposition.

Nearly all students are required to take health and wellness courses and faculty have a difficult time testing and measuring student progress in this department. Health and wellness is becoming an increasing area of focus for educators and it is a field that lends itself to teaching broader life skills. Currently, faculty at colleges and universities rely on an outdated and expensive system of textbook content delivery and stand-and-deliver testing to measure student progress that is leaving students behind and unable to accurately measure progress.

We are passionate about promoting wellness education. We provide students with personalized learning environment in which they develop strategies and tactics for healthy behaviors that enable them to be successful in all dimensions of their lives – academically, professionally, and personally. Our customizable learning system and powerful analytics give instructors and administrators the ability to easily and efficiently demonstrate the efficacy of their programs, manage retention and graduation rates, and measure a return on investment. The result of the Bearface approach is increased student engagement, lower course material cost and more efficiency for professors.

Bearface has signed publishing agreements and has a committed group of pilot customers ready to use the Company's initial product set, which is on track to be available early 2014.

1533873433 img 1202
Christopher Charles Johnson, CEO

Financial Summary

Previous Fundraise Summary

Security Type Preferred equity revenue share
Investor Eligibility All Investors

Offering Materials

There are no offering materials available for this business. Check back soon.

Financials

Funding Plans & History

Q&A

Team

1533873433 img 1202

Christopher Charles Johnson

CEO / President

Chris is the founder and co-owner of Bearface Instructional Technologies, L.L.C. He is responsible establishing the mission and objectives of the company as well as BIT’s daily operations, including editorial development, market development, and sales. He is the chief project manager of the company and coordinates the activities of subject matter experts, technology vendors, and editorial and marketing freelance services. He is also responsible for directing all sales and marketing efforts. Chris has 15 years of experience designing and successfully publishing print and digital learning systems for the education market. As the Publisher of Health Professions at Wolters Kluwer Health, he was responsible for leading developing publishing and market development strategy as well as outlining plans for innovative digital initiatives. As the Executive Editor of McGraw-Hill Higher Education’s Health and Human Performance list, he achieved 35% revenue growth and successfully launched several first edition print-digital learning systems, including iHealth, FitWell, and Connect Get Active. A graduate of Whitman College, Chris is an experienced instructional designer and editor.

About Bearface Instructional Technologies

Entity Type LLC
Website

Headquarters

Company Updates

Bearface Continues to Gain Momentum, Take a Look

August 19, 2014

Dear Potential Bearface Investors,

Bearface Instructional Technologies current round of funding through LocalStake will end on August 29, so I encourage you to login to LocalStake and take a close look at our offering materials and progress reports. With the recent $250k investment from BootStrap Incubation, as well as Bootstrap’s critical marketing and administrative support, we are positioned well to succeed.

If you have any questions or would like to discuss our current progress and prospects, please feel free to call me. My phone number is 317-379-3839, email address is chris_johnson@bearfaceonline.com.

Sincerely,

Chris Johnson
CEO
Bearface Instructional Technologies, LLC

Bearface and Perceivant Sign Partnership Agreement

February 5, 2014

We are pleased to announce that Bearface Instructional Technologies and Perceivant have signed a partnership agreement to package Perceivant’s data analytic technology with Bearface learning and assessment products. Perceivant technology is a real-time data analytics platform that enables Bearface customers to analyze and report development of students’ behavior change skills, more than just memorization and test-taking abilities. For Perceivant, Bearface offers a channel through which to upsell additional data analytic services to colleges and universities across North America.

Using data collected by Bearface’s science-based assessments, educators can do ad hoc queries, without IT assistance, on terabytes of wellness data that is received in real time. We’ll be able to do predictive analytics and trend analysis that will enable educators and administrators to demonstrate a return on investment for key stake holders, including students, parents, state governing bodies, and employers.

In the past few months, Bearface and Perceivant worked closely together to integrate Perceivant’s data analytic technologies into the Bearface web-based platform, BearTracks. Together, we are working with our academic partners to develop easy to produce reports that educators can use to demonstrate the efficacy of their courses, alignment with institutional goals, and the development of students’ learning and behavior change skills. Using Perceivant’s big data analytics, Bearface enables colleges and universities to demonstrate they are graduating students with learned behaviors that are critical to professional and personal success.

In cooperation with researchers at the University of Indianapolis, Bearface is conducting a pre- and post-course assessment project in which hundreds of students from colleges and universities around the country are currently participating. This project is demonstrating Bearface and Perceivant’s ability to collect, analyze, and report students’ learning behaviors and behavior change skills. Perceivant’s data analytics and reporting technology will be available with Bearface products, including FitQuest: A Personal Journey, which will begin generating revenue in fall 2014.

Perceivant’s technology and the experience of its leadership team are important assets that will ensure the success of Bearface Instructional Technology for many years to come.

Welcome to Bearface Instructional Technologies

November 22, 2013

Thank you for your interest in our company, Bearface Instructional Technologies. You will see that we are not only passionate about our mission and goals, but we have a strong strategic vision and tactical plan for growth. Our inspiration and motivation is to make other people’s lives better, particularly the students and educators who are our customers as well as our partners.

The recurring theme that runs through our learning and assessment products is the Journey: The unique path that we all travel through our lives. We know that every student and instructor is different, so we’ve created products and services that recognize that every student comes from a different learning background and should be allowed an engaging, supportive environment in which they can discover their own path to success. Bearface products and services give instructors the tools, the time, and academic freedom to teach in their own style; to user their academic training, skills, and personalities to coach, facilitate, and nurture their students.

We hope that you will join us on the Bearface journey. We work hard, we know what we are doing, and we have a lot of good people backing us up.

Now that I’ve given you my version of the Knute Rockne speech, here are some more mundane, yet still important, updates:

VCI Tax Credit
Bearface Instructional Technologies is certified as a qualified business for the State of Indiana’s Venture Capital Investment Tax Credit Program. If you reside in Indiana, you can receive a tax credit equal to 20% of your investment. This is a tax credit, which lowers your state tax liability and is good for a period of 5 years. Paperwork submission is facilitated via the Localstake platform.

Investor Meetings
We have scheduled time in the next several weeks to meet with potential investors. This will give you the opportunity to ask questions about our business plan, progress to date, market development activities and sales goals, among other things. The next two investor meetings are scheduled for:

Tuesday, November 26, 12:30 pm – 1:30 pm
Register here: http://events.r20.constantcontact.com/register/...
Wednesday, December 4, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm
Register here: http://events.r20.constantcontact.com/register/...

You can also register by contacting Ryan Flynn at LocalStake (ryan.flynn@localstake.com) or me (chris_johnson@bearfaceonline.com).

Progress Report
We are making good progress so far. Here is an update on what we’re doing now.

Bearface Pilot Project
Beginning in January, we will begin a pilot project with the BearTracks Assessment Platform. The pilot project will gather pre- and post-course wellness assessment data from thousands of college students around the country. The goals of the pilot project are to give key stakeholders a low-risk way to test drive and see the features and benefits of BearTracks, particularly its ease of use and big data analytics; preview eBook and assessment content from FitQuest: A Personal Journey; and gather user feedback from instructors and students. Key milestones:

• 17 top target schools have expressed interest in participating in the pilot project so far
• The Bearface Moodle platform will be migrated to Amazon Web Services on November 22, which will enable us to scale services to thousands of users across the country.
• The Bearface version of Perceivant analytics software is being beta tested by five professors from the University of Indianapolis, Abilene Christian University, and Gustavus Adolphus College. Integration of Perceivant analytics into BearTracks platform will be complete by early December.
• Development of the first set of user interface screens will be completed by DeveloperTown by December 4.

FitQuest: A Personal Journey
• All manuscript is written, including eBook chapters and online assessment modules.
• 19 of 21 chapters and modules are developed and will begin to be turned over to copy edit by November 22.
• eBook and cover designs are complete.
• Video product of exercise videos were completed on November 15 in Abilene. Video production of the sport and activity videos are underway at Gustavus Adolphus College.

Discussion

Topic Last activity
McGraw-Hill Acquired Engrade 1 comment almost 5 years ago
Recent Acquisitions in Education Market 0 comments almost 5 years ago
MOOCs 1 comment almost 5 years ago

Business status: No current fundraise

You cannot express interest at this time. Check back soon!

Loader

Express Interest

If the business begins fundraising, you will be able to review and complete the investment steps.

Commit to Invest

Once you've indicated interest, you can commit to invest or provide feedback to the business about your potential investment.

Sign Documents

Once you have committed to invest, you will review and sign the investment documents.

Transfer Funds

Once you have reviewed and signed investment documents, you will choose how you would like to transfer funds.

Company Updates

Bearface Continues to Gain Momentum, Take a Look

August 19, 2014

Dear Potential Bearface Investors,

Bearface Instructional Technologies current round of funding through LocalStake will end on August 29, so I encourage you to login to LocalStake and take a close look at our offering materials and progress reports. With the recent $250k investment from BootStrap Incubation, as well as Bootstrap’s critical marketing and administrative support, we are positioned well to succeed.

If you have any questions or would like to discuss our current progress and prospects, please feel free to call me. My phone number is 317-379-3839, email address is chris_johnson@bearfaceonline.com.

Sincerely,

Chris Johnson
CEO
Bearface Instructional Technologies, LLC

Bearface and Perceivant Sign Partnership Agreement

February 5, 2014

We are pleased to announce that Bearface Instructional Technologies and Perceivant have signed a partnership agreement to package Perceivant’s data analytic technology with Bearface learning and assessment products. Perceivant technology is a real-time data analytics platform that enables Bearface customers to analyze and report development of students’ behavior change skills, more than just memorization and test-taking abilities. For Perceivant, Bearface offers a channel through which to upsell additional data analytic services to colleges and universities across North America.

Using data collected by Bearface’s science-based assessments, educators can do ad hoc queries, without IT assistance, on terabytes of wellness data that is received in real time. We’ll be able to do predictive analytics and trend analysis that will enable educators and administrators to demonstrate a return on investment for key stake holders, including students, parents, state governing bodies, and employers.

In the past few months, Bearface and Perceivant worked closely together to integrate Perceivant’s data analytic technologies into the Bearface web-based platform, BearTracks. Together, we are working with our academic partners to develop easy to produce reports that educators can use to demonstrate the efficacy of their courses, alignment with institutional goals, and the development of students’ learning and behavior change skills. Using Perceivant’s big data analytics, Bearface enables colleges and universities to demonstrate they are graduating students with learned behaviors that are critical to professional and personal success.

In cooperation with researchers at the University of Indianapolis, Bearface is conducting a pre- and post-course assessment project in which hundreds of students from colleges and universities around the country are currently participating. This project is demonstrating Bearface and Perceivant’s ability to collect, analyze, and report students’ learning behaviors and behavior change skills. Perceivant’s data analytics and reporting technology will be available with Bearface products, including FitQuest: A Personal Journey, which will begin generating revenue in fall 2014.

Perceivant’s technology and the experience of its leadership team are important assets that will ensure the success of Bearface Instructional Technology for many years to come.

Welcome to Bearface Instructional Technologies

November 22, 2013

Thank you for your interest in our company, Bearface Instructional Technologies. You will see that we are not only passionate about our mission and goals, but we have a strong strategic vision and tactical plan for growth. Our inspiration and motivation is to make other people’s lives better, particularly the students and educators who are our customers as well as our partners.

The recurring theme that runs through our learning and assessment products is the Journey: The unique path that we all travel through our lives. We know that every student and instructor is different, so we’ve created products and services that recognize that every student comes from a different learning background and should be allowed an engaging, supportive environment in which they can discover their own path to success. Bearface products and services give instructors the tools, the time, and academic freedom to teach in their own style; to user their academic training, skills, and personalities to coach, facilitate, and nurture their students.

We hope that you will join us on the Bearface journey. We work hard, we know what we are doing, and we have a lot of good people backing us up.

Now that I’ve given you my version of the Knute Rockne speech, here are some more mundane, yet still important, updates:

VCI Tax Credit
Bearface Instructional Technologies is certified as a qualified business for the State of Indiana’s Venture Capital Investment Tax Credit Program. If you reside in Indiana, you can receive a tax credit equal to 20% of your investment. This is a tax credit, which lowers your state tax liability and is good for a period of 5 years. Paperwork submission is facilitated via the Localstake platform.

Investor Meetings
We have scheduled time in the next several weeks to meet with potential investors. This will give you the opportunity to ask questions about our business plan, progress to date, market development activities and sales goals, among other things. The next two investor meetings are scheduled for:

Tuesday, November 26, 12:30 pm – 1:30 pm
Register here: http://events.r20.constantcontact.com/register/...
Wednesday, December 4, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm
Register here: http://events.r20.constantcontact.com/register/...

You can also register by contacting Ryan Flynn at LocalStake (ryan.flynn@localstake.com) or me (chris_johnson@bearfaceonline.com).

Progress Report
We are making good progress so far. Here is an update on what we’re doing now.

Bearface Pilot Project
Beginning in January, we will begin a pilot project with the BearTracks Assessment Platform. The pilot project will gather pre- and post-course wellness assessment data from thousands of college students around the country. The goals of the pilot project are to give key stakeholders a low-risk way to test drive and see the features and benefits of BearTracks, particularly its ease of use and big data analytics; preview eBook and assessment content from FitQuest: A Personal Journey; and gather user feedback from instructors and students. Key milestones:

• 17 top target schools have expressed interest in participating in the pilot project so far
• The Bearface Moodle platform will be migrated to Amazon Web Services on November 22, which will enable us to scale services to thousands of users across the country.
• The Bearface version of Perceivant analytics software is being beta tested by five professors from the University of Indianapolis, Abilene Christian University, and Gustavus Adolphus College. Integration of Perceivant analytics into BearTracks platform will be complete by early December.
• Development of the first set of user interface screens will be completed by DeveloperTown by December 4.

FitQuest: A Personal Journey
• All manuscript is written, including eBook chapters and online assessment modules.
• 19 of 21 chapters and modules are developed and will begin to be turned over to copy edit by November 22.
• eBook and cover designs are complete.
• Video product of exercise videos were completed on November 15 in Abilene. Video production of the sport and activity videos are underway at Gustavus Adolphus College.

Discussion

Topic Last activity
McGraw-Hill Acquired Engrade 1 comment almost 5 years ago
Recent Acquisitions in Education Market 0 comments almost 5 years ago
MOOCs 1 comment almost 5 years ago
Mcafee secure trustmark

Get in touch with customer support:

Important Disclosures: localstake.com is a website owned by Stake Management LLC (“Stake Management”), which licenses SaaS tools and technology to a variety of issuers, broker-dealers, investment advisers, financial institutions and other entities. Stake Management is not a broker dealer, funding portal or investment advisor. The permitted use of Stake Management’s technology should not be interpreted as an endorsement or recommendation of any issuer, offering, or technology licensee. The Localstake Marketplace Platform operates under a technology license from Stake Management.

All offerings of securities are made through Localstake Marketplace, a registered broker dealer and funding portal, and member of FINRA and SIPC. Stake Management and Localstake Marketplace are hereinafter referred to collectively as the "Localstake Marketplace Platform Operators", unless otherwise specified.

The Localstake Marketplace Platform Operators do not provide legal advice, tax advice, or make investment recommendations, and no communication through this website or in any other medium should be construed as such. Investment opportunities posted on this website are private placements. Private placement investments are NOT bank deposits (and thus NOT guaranteed or insured by the FDIC, by a bank, or by any other federal governmental agency), and are NOT guaranteed by the Localstake Marketplace Platform Operators or any of their collective affiliates, owners, managers or members. Private placements of securities such as those displayed on this website MAY lose value. There is NO guarantee of a return on your investment and investors must be able to afford the loss of their entire investment. Neither the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) nor any federal or state securities commission or regulatory authority has recommended or approved any investment or the accuracy or completeness of any of the information or materials provided by or through this website. Nothing on this website shall constitute an offer to sell, or a solicitation of an offer to subscribe for or buy, any securities to any person in any jurisdiction to whom or in which such offer or solicitation is unlawful.

Any financial projections or returns shown on the website are illustrative examples only. Any investment information contained herein has been secured from sources the Localstake Marketplace Platform Operators believe are reliable, but we make no representations or warranties as to the accuracy of such information and accept no liability therefor. Offers to sell by issuers on Localstake Marketplace or the solicitations of offers to buy by investors on Localstake Marketplace, any security are only made through official offering materials that contain important information about risks, fees and expenses. Investors should conduct their own due diligence, not rely on the financial assumptions or estimates displayed on this website, and are encouraged to consult with a financial advisor, attorney, accountant, and any other professional that can help to understand and assess the risks associated with an investment opportunity. Please review the risks of investing in private placements on Localstake Marketplace.