Books & Brews mission is to provide a place for people without a place. Where all are accepted, appreciated, and encouraged to be themselves. We sell craft beer, focus on local food, and provide an extensive social-based event schedule but we are defined by our people. Simply put, people are our product. From our staff, to our customers, to our vendors, we

1483932849 data?1483932849
Jason Wuerfel, Member

Financial Summary

Previous Fundraise Summary

Security Type Revenue share
Minimum Investment $5,000
Investor Eligibility All Investors

Offering Materials

Learn about investing in revenue share loans

Revenue share loan investing explained

How it works: Investors loan funds and share in a percentage of cash received from every sale made by the business until they earn a maximum return.

Use this simplified calculator to become more familiar with the mechanics of a revenue share loan and how it compares to a more traditional debt instrument.

What size investment are you considering?
How many years until the loan matures?
What payback multiple will investors earn?

Learn about investing in revenue share loans at our Help Desk or get in touch with us.

Investment Perks

Expired 02/28/2017 | $50,000.00
Talk to us!

Receive previous perks and more

Expired 02/28/2017 | $40,000.00
$5k perk w/ 50% discount + $80 credit

Plaque + increased discount to 50% off all Books & Brews purchases, and a $80 monthly store credit for life of loan

Expired 02/28/2017 | $35,000.00
$5k perk w/ 45% discount + $70 credit

Plaque + increased discount to 45% off all Books & Brews purchases, and a $70 monthly store credit for life of loan

Expired 02/28/2017 | $30,000.00
$5k perk w/ 40% discount + $60 credit

Plaque + increased discount to 40% off all Books & Brews purchases, and a $60 monthly store credit for life of loan

Expired 02/28/2017 | $25,000.00
$5k perk w/ 35% discount + $50 credit

Plaque + increased discount to 35% off all Books & Brews purchases, and a $50 monthly store credit for life of loan

Expired 02/28/2017 | $20,000.00
$5k perk w/ 30% discount + $40 credit

Plaque + increased discount to 30% off all Books & Brews purchases, and a $40 monthly store credit for life of loan

Expired 02/28/2017 | $15,000.00
$5k perk w/ 25% discount + $30 credit

Plaque + increased discount to 25% off all Books & Brews purchases, and a $30 monthly store credit for life of loan

Expired 02/28/2017 | $10,000.00
$5k perk w/ 20% discount + $20 credit

Plaque + increased discount to 20% off all Books & Brews purchases, and a $20 monthly store credit for life of loan

Expired 02/28/2017 | $5,000.00
Permanent Plaque + Discounts

Permanent plaque with your name on it at Books & Brews, 15% off all Books & Brews purchases, and a $10 monthly store credit for life of loan

Financials

This is an overview of the previous and planned financings of the business, including the capital needs the business is looking to cover in the current financing.

Funding Uses for Target Raise ($35 k)

Location/Buildout
$20,000
Description Building improvements including addition of second restroom, some demo, and various aesthetic changes.
Timing A one-time payment 1 month after investments close.
Hiring
$5,000
Description Hiring and training management and employees
Timing A one-time payment 1 month after investments close.

Funding Uses for Max Raise ($77.5 k)

In addition to target raise

Start Up/Development
$20,000
Description Additional start-up costs including licenses, security deposit, signage, insurance, audio equipment, etc
Timing A one-time payment when investments close.
Build Inventory
$15,000
Description Initial costs of buying food, beer, wine, glassware, merchandise, and smallwares.
Timing A one-time payment 6 months after investments close.

Remaining funding uses include cash buffer and Localstake Marketplace fees. See offering materials for full details.

Q&A

Provide detail on your hiring plans

Our franchising team will be handling the expansion of our company-owned businesses in the same way they will be handling new franchisees. For the Muncie project, we will hire a General Manager, Taproom Manager, Head Brewer, Assistant Brewer, and at least a dozen other hourly employees to run the taproom.

What is the composition of your current team?

We currently have a five-member franchising team (detailed under "Management Team") in addition to approximately 20-25 other hourly employees across both our current locations. 

How do you sell your product or service?

Retail

How do you market your product or service?

We focus mainly on word of mouth and social media. There is no better advertising than a positive experience, so first and foremost we want to ensure our customer service standards are being met. Second, we want to stretch our advertising dollar as far as possible while making sure each dollar is well spent and hitting a demographic that will enjoy the B&B experience. In order to accomplish this, we mainly rely on targeted marketing on Facebook which can advertise to very specific interests. 

What is your production process?

We use as many local products as possible in both our beer production and food menu. Local vendors include Sugar Creek Malt Company, Smoking Goose Meatery, Fair Oaks Farms, and Broad Ripple Chip Company, just to name a few.

Provide us with some background on your products and services.

Our main revenue streams are beer (and other alcoholic beverages), food, merchandise, and books.

Our beer menu consists of between five to seven house beers and an equal amount of guest taps. We focus on keeping a range of flavor profiles to make sure we have one beer on tap (both house and guest) in each of the following categories: hop-forward, malt-forward, wheat/fruit, stout/porter, and blonde/cream. We sell our beer on draft by the 16-ounce pint, 10-ounce pour, 64-ounce growler, and 32-ounce bullet. We take advantage of our small batch size and experiment frequently with odd and off-the-wall flavors. We debut a new, one-off, or seasonal beer every Friday in order to drive at the "hobbyist" customer always looking to try something new and exciting.

Our lifetime Mug Club membership is a lifelong membership program that gives members a long list of perks. To date, we have over 1,100 mug club members between our Indianapolis and Zionsville location and we expect that number to sky rocket as we add both franchised and company-owned stores (memberships will be transferable between all stores).

Our merchandise options include several company designs in addition to products by Out of Print Clothing. Out of Print Clothing is an organization out of New York that licenses covert art from classic novels and puts them on t-shirts, sweatshirts, tote bags, and more. We also see a lot of sales from glassware.

Finally, our books make up a small sliver of our sales. We get all our books on donation from our customers and sell them for $3. We also use the books as an added perk for mug club members with a lifetime book exchange policy - leave a book, take a book. We donate 10% of the proceeds from the book sales to Indy Reads, a non-profit that focuses on adult and family literacy. 

What is your product development timeline?

During our search for locations for potential franchisees we discovered an opportunity in Muncie too good to pass up. We will use our franchise team to establish this spot as a 3rd company-owned location and perfect our franchise model. We are currently in lease negotiations but expect to be in the space between April and June 2017 with a projected opening in July or August. 

Who are your target customers?

We don't target specific demographics but provide an atmosphere that attracts specific interests and social-based activities and/or groups. For example, book clubs, writers, musicians, gamers, craft beer enthusiasts, foodies, or anyone looking to disconnect from technology and have a conversation.  

What is your current customer pipeline?

We currently have an established customer base at both locations anchored by over 1,100 Mug Club members.

Do you have current customers?

We currently have an established customer base at both locations anchored by over 1,100 Mug Club members.

What market(s) are you in?

Indianapolis and Zionsville. We will use the money from Localstake to open a 3rd location in Muncie.

What is your competitive advantage?

We appeal to nostalgia. Our business model will never die because nostalgia will never die. People will always appreciate the concept and history of paper books the same way they will always appreciate antiques. All of our house-made beers and food menu items are themed after authors, books, or literary themes.

We also appeal to everyone's sense of authenticity. We live in a time where the average customer is more informed about the world around then they ever have. Simply put, they can spot a fake. After going through the 80s, 90s, and 00s where the focus was "bigger, faster, cheaper," the market is now demanding "small batch, authentic, local." We will ensure the longevity of this appeal by committing to always keeping our local vendors, locally-made ceramic mugs, and hand-built furniture in all our locations.

Who are your competitors?

We believe we have aligned ourselves with several industries without becoming direct competitors including breweries, gaming stores, live music venues, event space, co-working space, etc. For example, most breweries are product-based businesses where that would have no business if they ran out of beer. Since we are an experience-based business we can afford to deal with product-based difficulties that arise (we can continue to operate and be profitable if our brew system breaks down, for example).

In the future, there is always the possibility someone will try to copy our bookstore/bar theme. However, we don't believe the big money restaurant investor will be able to duplicate our experience or go to lengths to compete with our small batch brewhouse, locally-sourced menu, or hand-built furniture.

Team

1483932849 data?1483932849

Jason Wuerfel

Founder and Chief Executive Officer

Jason founded Books & Brews in March of 2013 and opened the first location in Indianapolis in March of 2014. Jason has run every facet of the business since inception including brewing, maintenance, sales/marketing, promotions, and accounting, just to name a few. As the business evolves and expands, Jason will be in charge of the franchising team as they seek out to establish both new franchisee locations and company-owned locations.

1484925780 open uri20170120 4 1jrm67m?1484925780

Mike Hansen

Chief Marketing Officer
1485101763 molly beer

Molly Grooms

Chief Operating Officer
Missing

Bryan Suter

Chief Brewing Officer

About Books & Brews

Entity Books & Brews LLC
Entity Type LLC
State Organized Indiana
Founded March 2014
Employees 30
Social Media
Website

Headquarters

Company Updates

Sign Up on Localstake Marketplace to see details on this business.

Discussion

Topic Last activity

There are no discussions yet.

Risks & Disclosures

Comment on and upload any information regarding previous, current, or anticipated legal proceedings or regulatory issues

None

Who owns your product/service?
Trademark for "books&brews" is currently filed and pending approval
What are the legal and regulatory requirements in your industry?

We operate both our Zionsville and Indianapolis locations with a 210 Two-Way Restaurant Permit for beer and wine through the Alcohol and Tobacco Commission of the state of Indiana. Our Indianapolis location also holds a 101-1 Small Brewer's Permit. We also hold a federal brewery permit from the TTB (Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau). The TTB average processing time as of September 2016 was 165 days, which is a major obstacle for many new breweries when opening. However, for our next location will be also get our 210 Two-Way Restaurant Permit so we can "purchase" Books & Brews beer from our current Indy brewery before being able to brew on site in our new location. This will allow us to open in two to three months while deferring the overhead of the brewing equipment until we are able to start generating revenue.

Do you have any shareholder loans?

No

Describe your company's organizational structure

Books & Brews LLC has two locations in Indianapolis and Zionsville. The managerial structure of each location consists of a General Manager and Taproom Manager in addition to shift leads. Books & Brews Franchising LLC is a five-member managerial team assigned with the task of helping new stores (both franchisee owned and company owned) get from location selection to grand opening. The franchising portion of the business also offers on-going marketing, operations, and event support to all locations.

Do you have any employment contracts for key personnel?

No

An investment in the Company involves a high degree of risk, and should be regarded as speculative. Prospective investors should carefully consider these investment risks, among others, in addition to the other information presented in the Offering Materials, in evaluating the Company for investment. The risks listed herein are not a complete list of potential risks facing the Company and it may encounter unexpected risks in the future, which, may adversely affect its performance.

Business status: No current fundraise

You cannot express interest at this time. Check back soon!

Loader

1 Express Interest

If the business begins fundraising, you will be able to review and complete the investment steps.

2 Commit to Invest

Once you've indicated interest, you can commit to invest or provide feedback to the business about your potential investment.

3 Sign Documents

Once you have committed to invest, you will review and sign the investment documents.

4 Transfer Funds

Once you have reviewed and signed investment documents, you will choose how you would like to transfer funds.

Company Updates

Sign Up on Localstake Marketplace to see details on this business.

Discussion

Topic Last activity

There are no discussions yet.