The Savory Swine is a full-service custom butcher shop featuring the freshest cuts of premium grade beef (including Kobe Wagyu), pork (including Duroc), lamb, veal, chicken, and seafood. In addition to meats, we offer a boutique wine collection, imported and domestic cheese selection, charcuterie service, and deli items. The Savory Swine offers a lunch sandwich menu, salads and true Italian Gelato.

When it comes to meat, there are countless different cuts. Our meat cutting team at The Savory Swine provides custom, personalized service, and can answer your questions with confidence. We believe customers shouldn’t be afraid to ask questions. The Savory Swine is your custom neighborhood butcher shop.

1483732889 savoryswinelogo
Lisa Abendroth, Manager

Financial Summary

Previous Fundraise Summary

Security Type Revenue Share
Investor Eligibility All Investors
Learn about investing in revenue share loans

Revenue share loan investing explained

How it works: Investors loan funds and share in a percentage of cash received from every sale made by the business until they earn a maximum return.

Use this simplified calculator to become more familiar with the mechanics of a revenue share loan and how it compares to a more traditional debt instrument.

What size investment are you considering?
How many years until the loan matures?
What interest rate will the loan be payed at?

Learn about investing in revenue share loans at our Help Desk or get in touch with us.

Investment Perks

Expired 04/28/2017 | $5,000.00
Invite to a Wine Tasting and Cookout

All investors will get to join an Investor night with Beer and Wine Tastings, as well as a Burger/Brat cookout on us!

Financials

This is an overview of the previous and planned financings of the business, including the capital needs the business is looking to cover in the current financing.

Funding Uses for Target Raise ($43 k)

Build Inventory
$30,000
Description
Timing A one-time payment 3 months after investments close.
Start Up/Development
$10,000
Description Legal, insurance
Timing A one-time payment 1 month after investments close.

Funding Uses for Max Raise ($350 k)

In addition to target raise

Equipment Purchase
$78,000
Description Equipment Purchase, financed through TI allowances/partnership investment
Timing 4 monthly payments beginning 1 month after investments close.
Location/Buildout
$60,000
Description Architect, design plan, construction, covered through TI allowances/partnership investment
Timing 4 monthly payments beginning 1 month after investments close.
Hiring
$42,000
Description Staffing for new location
Timing 6 monthly payments beginning 3 months after investments close.
Other
$30,000
Description Working capital
Timing 6 monthly payments beginning 6 months after investments close.

Remaining funding uses include cash buffer and Localstake Marketplace fees. See offering materials for full details.

Q&A

What is the composition of your current team?

Lead Butcher and Meat Manager/Supervisor

Assistant Meat/Cutting Room Manager

2 Apprentice Meat Cutters

Service Counter & Floor Manager / Social Media

6 part time counter/customer service workers

 

Provide detail on your hiring plans

The new location will require a morning manager, and an evening manager. 

Weekends, days, and evenings, 7 days operation, requiring a full roster of 15 - 20 employees.

Provide us with some background on your products and services.

The Savory Swine has been operating in downtown Columbus, IN for the past five years, offering premium cuts of the freshest meats, deli sandwiches, meat and cheese boards, and a robust wine selection.  We are now looking to expand to a second location in Indianapolis. This expansion plan has developed into a joint venture with Beermiscuous, a craft beer bar and gathering place, where we will share retail space and capitalize from our combined target customer segments.

How do you sell your product or service?

All of our products are sold out of our retail locations.  The modern, clean design of our shop showcases premium cuts of the freshest red meats. High, butcher-block style tables accommodate you while you enjoy a deli sandwich, a meat and cheese board, or sip on a glass of wine, while your order is being completed. There’s also a glassed-in cutting room, where you can view the cleanliness and workmanship.

Who are your target customers?

Our target customers are selective and value quality of product and atmosphere, over cost and mainstream.  Working professionals and those who have adopted urban, modern living lifestyles.  Those who seek a unique retail experience, in a social gathering environment.  The Savory Swine will also target local businesses for lunch catering and after hour wine/beer events. 

Do you have current customers?

The Savory Swine enjoys a loyal customer base.  Located in the "front yard" of Cummins Global Headquarters in Columbus, IN, we have served not only the Cummins corporate community, but also Faurecia, Enkei, Toyota, SIHO, and many other local companies and their families.  We participate in city events and support other local restaurants and small businesses.  The new location in Indianapolis is strategically chosen next to the new Cummins Corporate Distribution building, where many loyal Swine fans have been assigned.

Who are your competitors?

The nearest competitor to the Indianapolis location would be Kincaids Meat shop, located near Butler University.  Kincaids is a traditional butcher shop, selling only meats and other grocery items.  Counter service only, they do not offer deli or wine service.

What is your competitive advantage?

The Savory Swine is the only business of its kind.  Joining together with Beermiscuous, a craft beer cafe, will truly create the most unique upscale foodie retail shop in all of downtown Indianapolis.  Enjoy a glass of wine or craft beer while socializing with friends, order a fresh house-made burger patty or premium cut steak to take home for the grill, sample imported cheeses and locally-crafted meats, or try a butcher-shop-bistro style deli sandwich.  The location at Market and New Jersey is central to the downtown living expansion that is now underway.  Nearby neighborhoods such as Lockerbie and Fountain Square also provide an accessible customer base.  Our store will also have outdoor sidewalk patio seating, and direct access to the courtyard within the Artistry building.

With the planned Whole Foods store across the way, the timing is of great advantage for The Savory Swine to attract our shared target market.

 

Team

1483732889 savoryswinelogo

Lisa Abendroth

Owner at The Savory Swine

Lisa has been the sole owner of The Savory Swine since she started the company 5 years ago.

1487860762 b only

Beermiscuous

Partner

We are partnering with Beermiscuous to occupy a portion of our new location in Indianapolis. Borrowing from classic European cafes and casual American coffee shops, Beermiscuous offers a simple environment to relax and escape life’s complexities. Read a book by the fireplace. Pop your laptop open and use our free Wi-Fi to get some work done. Beermiscuous is a casual environment centered around the enjoyment of a wide variety of craft beer.

1489856830 purelymeatlogo

Purely Meat Co.

Service Provider

Partnering with the Midwest's best farmers and ranchers, Purely Meat Company sources delicious and flavorful heritage-bred, all-natural, ethically raised meats for our discerning customers.

Purely Meat Co. specializes in Prime Grade Beef, All-Natural Premium Choice Grade Beef, Japanese Wagyu, and the freshest highest quality Pork, Veal, and Lamb.

1489856830 carrolllogo

Carroll Wine & Spirits

Service Provider

Indiana Owned & Operated, Carroll Wine & Spirits provides fine wines sourced globally from quality wineries and experienced winemakers. Carroll is well versed in The Savory Swine's boutique style inventory serving our unique customer base.

1489856830 eurologo

Euro USA

Service Provider

Specialty foods importer including cheeses, cured meats, crackers, mustards, spreads, and other Foodie gourmet favorites.

Euro offers a vast product line for both specialty retail and the most discerning chefs in the industry.

About The Savory Swine

Entity Shalene Resource Ltd., LLC
Entity Type LLC
State Organized Indiana
Founded January 2009
Employees 8
Social Media
Website

Headquarters

Company Updates

Indy Swinery on the Beer Trail!

August 23, 2017

Swiner Fans, did you know that the 501 College building is right along the Indy Brewery District and Beer Trail!?! What more perfect location for The Savory Swine? The 501 building is a 2 story floor plan, ideal for a beer business up top and the meatery / cheesery / wine and beer sippery on the main entrance.

For those of you new to The Savory Swine fanfare ~
The Savory Swine is the only business of its kind. Expanding its service to include local craft beer service and retail, will truly create the most unique upscale foodie retail shop in all of downtown Indianapolis. Enjoy a glass of wine or craft beer while socializing with friends, order a fresh house-made burger patty or premium cut steak to take home for the grill, sample imported cheeses and locally-crafted meats, or try a butcher-shop-bistro style deli sandwich. The potential location in Lockerbie Square is ideal considering the downtown living expansion that is now underway, and targets the growing demographic that suits The Savory Swine. Nearby neighborhoods such as Mass Ave and Fountain Square also provide an accessible customer base. Our store also has the potential for rooftop seating, parking area, and the location is on the path “out of town” for customers to conveniently stop in on their way home.

Lets seal this deal and get this business started!

MidSummer Swiner Hello

July 24, 2017

Well, not exactly MidSummer just yet, but the heat is as hot as your grill should be! Good thing The Savory Swine offers cool, refreshing Summer White wines and Rose's to keep you quenched ...

Charcuterie boards and wine parties have been popular this month at The Savory Swine, and I just learned of a new Salumeria that will be located in Fountain Square soon. Good news for the Swinery supporters! Crafted specialty meats and artisan cheeses paired with wines and craft beers... Indy is the on-point growth area for this business model, and the timing couldn't be better.

The Request for Proposal has been submitted for the 501 College location, and we need to keep moving forward. As I understand, the developers are working on a re-build plan, so we can effectively secure the LOI and lease terms.

Meanwhile, the Columbus location is certainly enjoying the summer visitors and various events that keep us hoppin'. Recently, we partnered with one of our favorite Chef created restaurants and hosted an Oyster event that was a huge success. We certainly look forward to those partnering opportunities that are available in the Indianapolis market.

The Savory Swine Update

June 16, 2017

Summer is heating up, and so are the sales! Heading into one of our biggest sales weekends, Father's Day, The Swine is enjoying good momentum. In other encouraging news, a location has been found that has Swine potential all over it! College Ave, across from Lockerbie Lofts and just a block from St. Joseph's brewery. The building needs extensive attention, but the integrity of the exposed brick and wood floors offers huge appeal for The Savory Swine vision. In the coming week, I intend to submit an LOI, so keep those investment commitments coming!

The Savory Swine Update

June 1, 2017

Summer is here and the grilling season in full swing! Memorial Weekend was a good weekend of sales, looking ahead to Grad's and Dad's to continue the upswing in revenues. We have a great selection of summer whites on the wine shelves, and the anniversary sale has product moving.

News on the Indy project: The clock won out on this round, and the location at Market and New Jersey has been awarded to another lessee. I have been presented with other viable options nearby in the Lockerbie Square area ~ similar traffic patterns, residential growth trends, and pedestrian accessibility. We're in the process of touring and evaluating those options now. Don't hesitate to reach out with any questions or comments on the location front. The vision for The Savory Swine remains the same, and I have every confidence that the right, successful opportunity is close at hand. Our revenue share offering remains open, so please continue to review and let me know of any questions. More information to come as we make progress with the Indy location, so keep those glasses full and the grills hot!

Investment minimum lowered

April 27, 2017

Investors and interested Swiners! We are getting close to the start of build-out and aiming for early Fall for the opening on the new location. The current Columbus location continues to perform well as we head into the summer season. April revenue is up 20.6% over March, and historically, we expect a 33+% increase for May sales.

We're off to a good start with the current revenue share offering, and are seeing interest develop at a good pace. You can review the details on the revenue share on our Localstake page. Please let me know if you have any questions. We are making it easier for more of you to take part in the Revenue Share offering by lowering the minimum investment amount to $1000.

Thanks for your interest to this point. Be a part of bringing your neighborhood Wine/Craft Beer Bar/Specialty Meats & Deli newest hot spot to downtown!

Inviting you to get to know The Savory Swine

April 22, 2017

Come see what we do best~

Join us at the Columbus location, 410 Washington St. Monday, April 24, 6pm for our Swiner's Cellar Spring Wine Launch, featuring Montrose Rose and Viognier. Event hosted by Josh Ratliff, Sommelier.

Come see what's making us famous~

Spring grilling season has sprung! Our butchers have filled the cases with all your Swine Burger favorites, prime grade strips and ribeyes, and the juiciest bone-in chops. Pick up a 6 pack of fresh ground, hand-pressed beef patties.

Jalapeno Bacon, Black Pepper Parm, Cajun Blue, Pepper & Onion, and more!

Indy location news~

The Artistry management has agreed to create an entrance to the store with direct access for the residents of the building. We're looking forward to hosting events in the courtyard! How cool is that??

Log into our Localstake profile to review our revenue share investment materials. Don't hesitate to reach out with any questions!

Lisa

Discussion

Topic Last activity

There are no discussions yet.

Risks & Disclosures

Do you have any shareholder loans?

No

Who owns your product/service?

I am sole owner of concept in its entirety.

Do you have any employment contracts for key personnel?

No

Comment on and upload any information regarding previous, current, or anticipated legal proceedings or regulatory issues

No current legal proceedings, none anticipated.

Operations are regulated by the County Health dept for food service, and the ATC for wine service/sales rules enforcement.

Describe your company's organizational structure

Single Member LLC,  Lisa Abendroth

Meat Manager / Lead Operations, butcher,  Full Time Salary

Asst. Manager / butcher assistant,  Full time Salary

2 assistants to cutting room / operations,  full time, hourly

3 to 6 part timers, counter service / deli workers, depending on the season.

What are the legal and regulatory requirements in your industry?

Health Inspector reports every 6 months. Proper food storage, packaging, preparation, and service for public health safety.  Maintain sanitary conditions, including proper food storage temperatures.   No issues, clean reports.

ATC license renewals, current, no issues.

State sales tax - monthly fiings and deposits.  Current.

 

An investment in the Company involves a high degree of risk, and should be regarded as speculative. Prospective investors should carefully consider these investment risks, among others, in addition to the other information presented in the Offering Materials, in evaluating the Company for investment. The risks listed herein are not a complete list of potential risks facing the Company and it may encounter unexpected risks in the future, which, may adversely affect its performance.

Business status: No current fundraise

You cannot express interest at this time. Check back soon!

Loader

Express Interest

If the business begins fundraising, you will be able to review and complete the investment steps.

Commit to Invest

Once you've indicated interest, you can commit to invest or provide feedback to the business about your potential investment.

Sign Documents

Once you have committed to invest, you will review and sign the investment documents.

Transfer Funds

Once you have reviewed and signed investment documents, you will choose how you would like to transfer funds.

Company Updates

Indy Swinery on the Beer Trail!

August 23, 2017

Swiner Fans, did you know that the 501 College building is right along the Indy Brewery District and Beer Trail!?! What more perfect location for The Savory Swine? The 501 building is a 2 story floor plan, ideal for a beer business up top and the meatery / cheesery / wine and beer sippery on the main entrance.

For those of you new to The Savory Swine fanfare ~
The Savory Swine is the only business of its kind. Expanding its service to include local craft beer service and retail, will truly create the most unique upscale foodie retail shop in all of downtown Indianapolis. Enjoy a glass of wine or craft beer while socializing with friends, order a fresh house-made burger patty or premium cut steak to take home for the grill, sample imported cheeses and locally-crafted meats, or try a butcher-shop-bistro style deli sandwich. The potential location in Lockerbie Square is ideal considering the downtown living expansion that is now underway, and targets the growing demographic that suits The Savory Swine. Nearby neighborhoods such as Mass Ave and Fountain Square also provide an accessible customer base. Our store also has the potential for rooftop seating, parking area, and the location is on the path “out of town” for customers to conveniently stop in on their way home.

Lets seal this deal and get this business started!

MidSummer Swiner Hello

July 24, 2017

Well, not exactly MidSummer just yet, but the heat is as hot as your grill should be! Good thing The Savory Swine offers cool, refreshing Summer White wines and Rose's to keep you quenched ...

Charcuterie boards and wine parties have been popular this month at The Savory Swine, and I just learned of a new Salumeria that will be located in Fountain Square soon. Good news for the Swinery supporters! Crafted specialty meats and artisan cheeses paired with wines and craft beers... Indy is the on-point growth area for this business model, and the timing couldn't be better.

The Request for Proposal has been submitted for the 501 College location, and we need to keep moving forward. As I understand, the developers are working on a re-build plan, so we can effectively secure the LOI and lease terms.

Meanwhile, the Columbus location is certainly enjoying the summer visitors and various events that keep us hoppin'. Recently, we partnered with one of our favorite Chef created restaurants and hosted an Oyster event that was a huge success. We certainly look forward to those partnering opportunities that are available in the Indianapolis market.

The Savory Swine Update

June 16, 2017

Summer is heating up, and so are the sales! Heading into one of our biggest sales weekends, Father's Day, The Swine is enjoying good momentum. In other encouraging news, a location has been found that has Swine potential all over it! College Ave, across from Lockerbie Lofts and just a block from St. Joseph's brewery. The building needs extensive attention, but the integrity of the exposed brick and wood floors offers huge appeal for The Savory Swine vision. In the coming week, I intend to submit an LOI, so keep those investment commitments coming!

The Savory Swine Update

June 1, 2017

Summer is here and the grilling season in full swing! Memorial Weekend was a good weekend of sales, looking ahead to Grad's and Dad's to continue the upswing in revenues. We have a great selection of summer whites on the wine shelves, and the anniversary sale has product moving.

News on the Indy project: The clock won out on this round, and the location at Market and New Jersey has been awarded to another lessee. I have been presented with other viable options nearby in the Lockerbie Square area ~ similar traffic patterns, residential growth trends, and pedestrian accessibility. We're in the process of touring and evaluating those options now. Don't hesitate to reach out with any questions or comments on the location front. The vision for The Savory Swine remains the same, and I have every confidence that the right, successful opportunity is close at hand. Our revenue share offering remains open, so please continue to review and let me know of any questions. More information to come as we make progress with the Indy location, so keep those glasses full and the grills hot!

Investment minimum lowered

April 27, 2017

Investors and interested Swiners! We are getting close to the start of build-out and aiming for early Fall for the opening on the new location. The current Columbus location continues to perform well as we head into the summer season. April revenue is up 20.6% over March, and historically, we expect a 33+% increase for May sales.

We're off to a good start with the current revenue share offering, and are seeing interest develop at a good pace. You can review the details on the revenue share on our Localstake page. Please let me know if you have any questions. We are making it easier for more of you to take part in the Revenue Share offering by lowering the minimum investment amount to $1000.

Thanks for your interest to this point. Be a part of bringing your neighborhood Wine/Craft Beer Bar/Specialty Meats & Deli newest hot spot to downtown!

Inviting you to get to know The Savory Swine

April 22, 2017

Come see what we do best~

Join us at the Columbus location, 410 Washington St. Monday, April 24, 6pm for our Swiner's Cellar Spring Wine Launch, featuring Montrose Rose and Viognier. Event hosted by Josh Ratliff, Sommelier.

Come see what's making us famous~

Spring grilling season has sprung! Our butchers have filled the cases with all your Swine Burger favorites, prime grade strips and ribeyes, and the juiciest bone-in chops. Pick up a 6 pack of fresh ground, hand-pressed beef patties.

Jalapeno Bacon, Black Pepper Parm, Cajun Blue, Pepper & Onion, and more!

Indy location news~

The Artistry management has agreed to create an entrance to the store with direct access for the residents of the building. We're looking forward to hosting events in the courtyard! How cool is that??

Log into our Localstake profile to review our revenue share investment materials. Don't hesitate to reach out with any questions!

Lisa

Discussion

Topic Last activity

There are no discussions yet.

Mcafee secure trustmark

Get in touch with customer support:

Important Disclosures: localstake.com is a website owned by Stake Management LLC (“Stake Management”), which licenses SaaS tools and technology to a variety of issuers, broker-dealers, investment advisers, financial institutions and other entities. Stake Management is not a broker dealer, funding portal or investment advisor. The permitted use of Stake Management’s technology should not be interpreted as an endorsement or recommendation of any issuer, offering, or technology licensee. The Localstake Marketplace Platform operates under a technology license from Stake Management.

All offerings of securities are made through Localstake Marketplace, a registered broker dealer and funding portal, and member of FINRA and SIPC. Stake Management and Localstake Marketplace are hereinafter referred to collectively as the "Localstake Marketplace Platform Operators", unless otherwise specified.

The Localstake Marketplace Platform Operators do not provide legal advice, tax advice, or make investment recommendations, and no communication through this website or in any other medium should be construed as such. Investment opportunities posted on this website are private placements. Private placement investments are NOT bank deposits (and thus NOT guaranteed or insured by the FDIC, by a bank, or by any other federal governmental agency), and are NOT guaranteed by the Localstake Marketplace Platform Operators or any of their collective affiliates, owners, managers or members. Private placements of securities such as those displayed on this website MAY lose value. There is NO guarantee of a return on your investment and investors must be able to afford the loss of their entire investment. Neither the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) nor any federal or state securities commission or regulatory authority has recommended or approved any investment or the accuracy or completeness of any of the information or materials provided by or through this website. Nothing on this website shall constitute an offer to sell, or a solicitation of an offer to subscribe for or buy, any securities to any person in any jurisdiction to whom or in which such offer or solicitation is unlawful.

Any financial projections or returns shown on the website are illustrative examples only. Any investment information contained herein has been secured from sources the Localstake Marketplace Platform Operators believe are reliable, but we make no representations or warranties as to the accuracy of such information and accept no liability therefor. Offers to sell by issuers on Localstake Marketplace or the solicitations of offers to buy by investors on Localstake Marketplace, any security are only made through official offering materials that contain important information about risks, fees and expenses. Investors should conduct their own due diligence, not rely on the financial assumptions or estimates displayed on this website, and are encouraged to consult with a financial advisor, attorney, accountant, and any other professional that can help to understand and assess the risks associated with an investment opportunity. Please review the risks of investing in private placements on Localstake Marketplace.